THE LAST THATCHED ROOF IN WESTON
ORIGINALLY KNOWN AS LEEVES COTTAGE, THE OLD THATCHED COTTAGE HAS BEEN AN ICONIC PART OF WESTON-SUPER-MARE FOR HUNDREDS OF YEARS.
Built in the 18th Century, The Old Thatched Cottage was originally a holiday home for a man named William Leeves, and was actually built on the beach! When the sea wall was built in 1885, though, this changed, and it now sits a stone's throw from the sand.
When Axentis Michael, one of Weston's best-known businessmen, purchased the cottage in 1959, it was operating as a tea room. Seeing its potential, he reinvented it as a world-class restaurant, and his family runs it proudly to this day.
Having been worked on many times over the years, all that remains today of the original building work is the eastern end with the high-pitched roof - the very last thatched roof in Weston.
Full of history, having since been made a Grade 2 listed building, it provides a warm and homely atmosphere that everyone agrees is wholly unique.
William Leeves, the original owner, was born in 1748. He became a lieutenant in the foot-guards, then achieved fame in 1772 for writing the music to ‘Auld Robin Gray’. In 1779 he took holy orders, becoming a Reverend, and was given the living of Wrington.
It was because he loved the place so much that he decided to build a seaside cottage, and he stayed there every summer until his death in 1828. That some of his original building work still remains is testament to his skill and dedication.